About Us

Turning Interest Into Action

In April 1992, the Cherokee County Ministerial Association (CCMA) purchased a house in Murphy with the help of an interest free loan.

Slim Hurlburt and Al Johnson, along with countless others spent time renovating the house. The Hurlburth-Johnson Shelter opened on August 7, 1993.

In July of 2005, the CCMA turned management over to a volunteer Board of Directors who incorporated as the Hurlburt-Johnson Friendship House, Inc. They led a massive volunteer renovation and re-opened on November 1, 2005.

The facility is supported entirely by private donations, the Reseller Thrift store and grants.  We can currently accommodate 27 individuals and are in the planning stages to increase our capacity.

The HJFH is the only shelter in 100 miles that has the level of assistance we provide our residents.

Board of Directors and staff

 Nancy Chastain                             Don Yancheson.                            Anne Payne

                                                                                                                                                                                        Karen Crubaugh                                  Elmer Wilson


   Kim Gibson                                    Fr. James Blomely                                      Tim Huff  


Pat Meeks - Shelter Manager 


                                                Becky Markey - Reseller Manager                                                                




Focus on Residents and Volunteers
Teen Volunteers

Join us in making a real difference.

Pat Meeks, our Shelter Manager has been a part of the HJFH for several years, first as a volunteer. Please give Pat a call if you are interested in providing support or volunteering at the shelter.  828-837-2654